Plastic in the guts of a typewriter is not cool.

Grrr!
Grrr!
At least I can get at it easily.
At least I can get at it easily.

it ain't coolOh, if I could time-travel, I would tell whoever it was who put this bit of plastic into the Classic 12 that they were seriously out of order. Even the design of the actual bit of plastic itself is deserving of the most florrid shakespearian insult. I have to use a pair of pliers to squeeze the ends to get the spool off. And look! One of the ends on the other side is broken. Hmm. No problems there. I am thinking of breaking the other one in the same way. Seriously! I don’t want to be rummaging in the bowels of the typewriter every time I need to change the ribbon.

This half-broken side works fine.
This half-broken side works fine.

I think the moral of the story is don’t go out unless your drawers have good elastic. No. I mean check for plastic before you end up getting your knickers in a twist over bad design choices made 40 years ago. Yep. Oh, what larks!

5 thoughts on “Plastic in the guts of a typewriter is not cool.

  1. Blame it on competition from better, cheaper Japanese designs. Remember that SCM was dying the death of a thousand cuts in the late 70’s – mired in legal battles and basically surviving on protectionist US policies. This design can survive a lot of cheapening, but there’s a price to pay 30-40 years later..

    Like

  2. I’m a bit surprised that the left plastic spindle remains intact after 40+ years of use.

    I would have hated to be a project manager at a US typewriter company in the 1970s. I imagine there were many (sometimes painful) design decisions made to keep production costs down.

    Like

  3. My Cella has the same plastic spool rods, but since they went cheap plastic on the outside as well as on the inside, it’s more befitting the typewriter (but still annoying I agree) 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

